Film Review: Les Misérables

During January 2013, I visited the Cinema to see Les Misérables. I am a huge fan of this musical and couldn’t wait to see it after I first saw the Trailer whilst waiting for The Hobbit (2012) to begin last December. 

Directed by Tom Hooper, Les Mis begins with prisoner Jean Valjean (AKA 24601) being released from prison but breaking his parole to start a new life. Inspector Javert begins the chase after him, which culminates in an epic scene near the end of hr film, set against the historic context of the June Rebellion in France. 

It didn’t take long for me to fall in love with film and I found that I could not take my eyes off the screen whilst watching it at the Cinema. I thought that the film had been cast perfectly; Anne Hathaway was brilliant in her role as Fantine, Russell Crowe was the right choice as Javert and that Hugh Jackman kept the piece together with his wonderful performance as 24601. The supporting cast is equally as brilliant, with many famous names to boast of. I highly recommend that everyone should watch this film, even if you don’t like musicals the raw emotion of the film will keep you hooked!

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

